Type@Cooper


 

The Continuing Education Department of The Cooper Union, in conjunction with the Type Directors Club, offers a Postgraduate Certificate in Typeface Design.

Top industry professionals lead a highly focused and comprehensive study of key typeface design principles: technique, technology, aesthetics, expression, history, and theory. Students explore the foundation of typography in depth by creating their own typefaces in hands-on classes, while developing a broad understanding of the field through lectures, discussions, and research. Electives are offered each term, focusing on topics such as pen and brush lettering, Python programming, and advanced tools for font development. A series of guest lectures round out the curriculum, allowing students deeper insight into specific relevant topics.

Participants leave the program with the specialized skills to design professional-quality digital typefaces and lettering.



 

apply by
May 31


Applications for admission to the 2018 Extended Program are due at midnight of Thursday, May 31 2018. Read more.

To receive notifications about New York classes, workshop and lectures join this mailing list. To receive updates on the offerings in San Francisco you can join the mailing list for Type@Cooper West here.

We are happy to announce the dates for the next Typographics festival. Hope to see you there on June 15 & 16, 2018. There will be workshops and tours schedule in the weeks around these dates too, so mark your calendars! Conference participants can get a 10% discount on Type@Cooper NYC workshops offered between June 11 and 21! You'll find the promo code on your ticket confirmation. To receive notifications about Typographics 2018 join this mailing list.

Free Upcoming Public Lectures

Check out more lectures


Upcoming Public Workshops

Type@Cooper - Movable Type: Animation for Typographers
Movable Type: Animation for Typographers
with Todd Goldstein

Public workshop
Tue., Oct. 02 – Tue., Dec. 04, 2018
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Principles of Typeface Design
Principles of Typeface Design
with Troy Leinster

Public workshop
Wed., Oct. 03 – Wed., Dec. 12, 2018
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Introduction to Lettering
Introduction to Lettering
with Ken Barber

Public workshop
Sat., Oct. 06 – Sun., Oct. 07, 2018
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Branding with Type
Branding with Type
with Ellen Lupton

Public workshop
Sat., Oct. 13 –
10:00 AM – 6:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Typographic Relativity: Three Projects
Typographic Relativity: Three Projects
with Ina Saltz

Public workshop
Sun., Oct. 14 –
10:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Lettering Intensive: The Modern Letter
Lettering Intensive: The Modern Letter
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat., Oct. 20 – Sun., Oct. 21, 2018
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Fundamentals of Flat Brush Lettering: Block Capitals & Condensed Casuals
Fundamentals of Flat Brush Lettering: Block Capitals & Condensed Casuals
with John Downer

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat., Oct. 27 – Sun., Oct. 28, 2018
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Mechanics of Typography
Mechanics of Typography
with Alexander Tochilovsky

Public workshop
Tue., Oct. 30 – Tue., Nov. 27, 2018
6:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Type@Cooper - Proportions
Proportions
with John Downer

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat., Nov. 03 – Sun., Nov. 04, 2018
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Script Logos and Wordmarks
Script Logos and Wordmarks
with Ken Barber

Public workshop
Sat., Nov. 10 – Sun., Nov. 11, 2018
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Brush Lettering
Brush Lettering
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat., Nov. 17 – Sun., Nov. 18, 2018
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Type@Cooper - Spencerian Lettering
Spencerian Lettering
with Ken Barber

Elective for Extended program students and open to the public for a fee (space permitting)
Sat., Dec. 01 – Sun., Dec. 02, 2018
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Check out more public workshops